Playing Hard to Get

19 Mar

After a long day of work, I came home today and balanced the mojo budget.  The thought of devoting so much time to that blasted budget kills me.  On top of the budget, I just spent my last weekend (ah, on a roadtrip involving a small town, road bikes, and the magical combination of the hot sun and cool spring air) day-dreaming.

Suddenly, I realize that my dreaming has become compartmentalized.  Reserved for the weekends.  I mourn that.

But, oh, the dreams!  The jam and I outlined the book that is going to make me famous.  I made the beginnings of a playlist that I’ll use to apply to be a dj at the local volunteer radio station that will lead me to become a famous music critic.  I read a book on food and imagined the meals I’d make when I joined a local CSA.

A mere 4 days later and although I have registered (and paid, gulp) for the CSA, I can’t say I have gotten anywhere closer to making my big dreams a reality.  Just balancing a budget that reminds me of my chains.

Is the grass always greener?  Do I take hold of these dreams and be proud that they are mine?  Do I wallow in the fact that I don’t have a bestseller, a business of my own, or a job where I work in the sun?  When do our dreams diverge from our reality?  When do we pursue a convergence and when do we make lemonade?

Leave a comment